Reviews

Highly Recommended...

posted Sep 7, 2011, 2:05 PM by Beyond Thai

Skokie, IL

9/1/2011

My wife and I tried out Beyond Thai today as a recommendation from a friend of ours and it was fantastic! It is located just down the street (on Church Street, 2 blocks east of Skokie Blvd) from the Double Tree Hotel we were staying at and the food and atmosphere just couldn't have been more pleasant.

The prices are very reasonable considering the quality of food you get and the service is simply superb. We both can't wait to go back for lunch and try out their 4 course lunch specials for only $6.95!

Overall verdict: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to anyone looking for first-rate Thai & Asian cuisine in the Chicago area.

5 Star Reviews from Yelp...

posted Sep 7, 2011, 11:42 AM by Beyond Thai   [ updated Sep 7, 2011, 4:05 PM ]

  • 8/14/2011 First to Review 

    Beyond Thai just opened on Aug. 1 and used to be Thai Pavilion II. The new place has new owners and a new menu.

    Firstly, the food here is amazing. For $7.95, you get about two meals worth of food and they're not skimpy on the meat. I've already had the Pad Thai, the red curry, and the Thai spring rolls and all we're delicious. They also have a great lunch special. For $6.95 you get an appetizer, soup, and an entree. Thai Pavilion used to have a lunch buffet, but Beyond Thai's lunch special is just as great and you're still getting quite a bit of food for the price.

    The service is outstanding as well. They're very friendly and are more than willing to help you order if you're not that familiar with Thai food.

    And if you need any more reasons to check it out, Beyond Thai also delivers to Skokie, Evanston, and Wilmette for $2.50!

    Their hours aren't listed on Yelp yet, but here are their business hours:
    Mon-Thurs: 11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
    Fri-Sat: 11:00 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
    Sunday: noon- 9:00 p.m.

    Check out their menu here: http://www.beyondthaiskokie.com

    Was this review …?

     

  • Beyond Thai

    Review from Shinsuke A.

     
    9/7/2011 3 photos

    Best thai restaurant in town(^o^). Their  lunch  special is a good price  for lunch and the taste, mmmmm... Yummy.! Also the dinner menu and individual  dished  are also good too!! You better try them!!!

New Restaurant Goes 'Beyond Thai' Cuisine

posted Sep 7, 2011, 11:37 AM by Beyond Thai

New Restaurant Goes 'Beyond Thai' Cuisine

The Pan-Asian spot offers customers friendly, quick service and fresh, flavorful food.

‹ Back to Article View full size

Beyond Thai at 4654 Church St. has taken over the space of the former Thai Pavillion II in Skokie.

Beyond Thai took over Thai Pavilion II’s digs in August, and is a huge improvement over its predecessor. The restaurant features a menu of Thai, Chinese, Korean and Japanese food that can be made to satisfy any tastes.

The restaurant at 4654 Church St. has kept the same décor as Thai Pavilion II, but has new owners and a new chef. Tables are topped with white tablecloths, fish swim in a tank near the kitchen and a flat-screen TV was tuned to the Travel Channel that was airing shows devoted to food.

Read more: Check out previous restaurant reviews 

My companion and I visited Saturday night and were greeted by a woman who we later learned was one of the two owners. The place was quiet, occupied by just one other pair, though we saw a steady stream of diners come in to pick up takeout orders.

Beyond Thai is BYOB, so we brought a bottle and were given wine glasses along with our menus. We asked for recommendations, and the owner asked if we liked spicy food. When we responded in the affirmative, she suggested the pad kee mao ($7.95) and Thai basil seafood ($11.95). For appetizers she recommended the fried shrimp spring roll ($5.95).

We went with all of her recommendations and ordered a bowl of tom yum soup ($3.95) with her assurances that she would make everything extra spicy for us.

Even though they’re called spring rolls, the dish is actually large shrimp wrapped in egg roll skin and fried, giving them a delicious crisp but not greasy covering. They’re served with one of the best sweet and sour sauces I’ve ever had, a homemade blend that has the texture of honey.

Our soup came out at the same time, along with a second bowl and spoon. It was easily enough to share, with a spicy broth packed with chicken, mushrooms and cilantro. Our entrees came out very fast, so we wound up packing up some of the hearty starter to go.

The Thai basil entrée included plenty of shrimp, big scallops and strips of squid and imitation crab, served with mushrooms and pieces of lightly cooked red bell pepper in spicy gravy. It worked very well over rice, which thickened the texture.

While the Thai basil was quite good, the pad kee mao was better. The restaurant uses fresh rather than dried thick noodles, which are topped with strips of tender beef, sliced mushrooms, zucchini, carrots and bean sprouts. The sauce was very spicy, but was tempered by the noodles.

We had leftovers from both dishes and after getting them packed, we asked if the restaurant had any dessert. The owner said there was just ice cream, but asked what we would like to see on the menu, saying she had already requests for mango sticky rice.

The server-owner also encouraged us to come back next Friday when Beyond Thai will have an acoustic guitar player, a first test to see if it wants to regularly offer live music. I really appreciated the enthusiasm and interest she showed in her customers.

I never like to see a business close but when I visited Thai Pavilion in March I got the impression the restaurant wasn’t really trying. Beyond Thai is, and Skokie’s dining scene is better for it.

New Thai & Asian Restaurant in Skokie

posted Oct 19, 2009, 5:09 PM by Beyond Thai   [ updated Aug 14, 2011, 1:12 PM ]

On Monday, August 1st, a new Thai & Asian restaurant opened in Skokie, on Church Street a block east of Skokie Boulevard. We went there for lunch today. Everything we had was very good. "Beyond Thai" offers lunch specials for $6.95 Mon - Fri from 11AM - 3PM. The specials include as choice of two soups and choice of appetizer (crab rangoon, cucumber salad or egg roll served with sweet chili sauce) along with a choice of 9 entrees. What's even better is that, based on the ample portion sizes, I'm pretty sure these are the same dinner-size portions normally selling for $7.95-8.95 on the menu, so even without the soup or appetizer, the price is lower than it would be in the evening.

The shrimp pad thai was excellent, and so was the chicken panang. We also had the tom kha gai (coconut soup with chicken), which was as good as any we've had in a while, and honeydew bubble tea. They serve a nice, strong Thai iced tea to drink. When we asked how hot the soup and panang were, we were told we could have them mild, medium, or hot; we ordered them medium and that's how they came. Service was excellent too.

All in all Beyond Thai was a very good experience, and they are a welcome addition to the near north suburbs.

Highly Recommended - Superb Food, Service & Atmosphere

posted Oct 19, 2009, 5:09 PM by Beyond Thai   [ updated Aug 14, 2011, 1:16 PM ]

My wife and I tried out The Beyond Thai the other day as a recommendation from a friend of ours and it was fantastic! It was located just down the street from the Double Tree Hotel we were staying at and the food and atmosphere just couldn't have been more pleasant. The prices are more than reasonable considering the quality of food you get and the service is simply superb. We both can't wait to go back for lunch and try out some of their 9 lunch specials for only  $6.95! Overall verdict: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to anyone looking for first-rate Thai cuisine in the Chicago area.

1-5 of 5

Comments